Do You Know the Rules?

Updated: Nov 6, 2019

Which of the following does not result in a warning for delay? a. Failure to have the court ready for play after the final horn to end any timeout. b. Interfering with the ball after a goal. b. Interfering with the ball after a goal. c. Failing to provide sufficient space along the out of bounds line for a throw-in after being warned by an official. d. The opponents of the thrower-in having any part of their person beyond the inside plane of the boundary line prior to being allowed by rule. A1 is attempting the second of two free throws. A4 and B5 are in marked lane spaces. B5 purposely fakes a violation that causes A4 to violate. The try is not successful. What is the result? a. Double violation. Resume play using the alternating-possession arrow. b. Penalize B5’s fake only. Award a substitute free throw. c. Penalize B5’s fake only. Resume play with a throw-in to team A. d. Violation on A4. Resume play with a throw-in to team B. When a free throw has been awarded to the wrong player by the officials, what activity that occurs during the free throw shall not be canceled? a. A technical foul. b. A personal foul. c. A successful free throw. d. A free throw violation. A1 is making a throw-in from the endline. A1 throws the ball to teammate A2, who has one foot on the sideline when he or she first touches the ball. What is the result? a. Throw-in violation, and team B receives a throw-in at the endline where the original throw-in was made attempted. b. Out-of-bounds violation, and team B receives a throw-in at the endline where the original throw-in was made attempted. c. Throw-in violation, and team B receives a throw-in along the sideline where A2 first touched the ball. d. Out-of-bounds violation, and team B receives a throw-in along the sideline where A2 first touched the ball. A1 is dribbling the ball near the division line, when A4 and B5, who are in the lane in team A’s frontcourt, are called for a double foul. Both teams are in the bonus. How is play resumed? a. A4 and B5 will each shoot bonus free throws, and play is resumed with an alternating possession throw-in. b. No free throws are shot, and play is resumed with an alternating possession throw-in. c. No free throws are shot, and play is resumed with a throw-in to team A near the division line where A1 and the ball were located. d. No free throws are shot, and play is resumed with a throw-in to team A nearest the spot of the double foul. Which is true when a player throws the ball against an opponent’s backboard? a. A violation shall be assessed. b. A technical foul shall be assessed. c. It constitutes the start of a dribble. d. It is only allowed during a throw-in. A1 jumps for a try for goal, and defender B2 knocks the ball out of A1’s hands prior to A1 releasing the shot. A1 controls the loose ball while in the air, returns to the floor in possession of the ball, and begins a dribble. What is the result? a. Jump ball. b. Traveling violation. c. Double dribble violation. d. Legal; play continues. When shall the timer sound a 15-second warning horn? a. Before the expiration of time before the start of the game. b. Before the expiration of any intermission, excluding the halftime intermission. c. Before the expiration of any timeout. d. Before the expiration of time to remedy a lost contact lens. Team A does not use any of its timeouts in the first half. How many timeouts shall team A have available to use in the second half? a. Three 60-second and two 30-second timeouts. b. Two 60-second and three 30-second timeouts. c. Two 60-second and two 30-second timeouts. d. Four 75-second and two 30-second timeouts. A player who has been withdrawn may re-enter during the next opportunity to substitute: a. At any time after the ball becomes live following his or her replacement. b. At any time before the ball becomes live following his or her replacement. c. After the clock has properly started following his or replacement. d. At any time after the ball becomes live following his or her replacement if the team has called a timeout. If three players have different numbers on their uniforms than the numbers indicated in the scorebook, the result is: a. A technical foul charged to each of the three team members. b. A single team technical foul. c. A single administrative technical foul. d. Three administrative technical fouls. If team A’s head coach requests a review for a correctable error, but the request is made after the time limit for such a review has expired, what is the result? a. Administrative technical foul. b. Technical foul assessed to team A’s head coach. c. Team A is charged with a timeout. d. No penalty is assessed, nor is a timeout charged. A2 has the ball in the frontcourt and attempts a pass to A3. B2 deflects the ball in the frontcourt, and A1 catches the deflected pass in the backcourt before it hits the floor. a. Backcourt violation on A1. b. Backcourt violation on A1 because the ball never touched the floor in the backcourt. c. Backcourt violation because team A maintained team control throughout the play. d. Legal play. During A1’s interrupted dribble, a double personal foul occurs. Both teams are in the bonus, and the possession arrow favors team B. How is play resumed? a. Both teams shoot free throws, and play is resumed at the point of interruption after the free throws are shot. b. Both teams shoot free throws, and play is resumed with a throw-in to team B after the free throws. c. No free throws are shot. Throw-in to team A. d. No free throws are shot. Throw-in to team B. Team A has team control of the ball in its backcourt for nine seconds when A1 is granted a timeout. How many seconds does team A have to advance the ball into its frontcourt following the timeout? a. 10 seconds. b. 9 seconds. c. 1 second. d. 0 seconds. While A1 is holding the ball for the second of two free throws, A2 fouls B3. Team B is not in the bonus. How is play resumed after A1’s second free throw if the free throw is successful? a. Play shall continue with the result of A1’s free throw just as with any other free throw attempt where the ball shall remain live if the free throw is unsuccessful. b. B3 shall receive bonus free throws. c. Team B shall receive a designated spot throw-in. d. Team B shall receive a non-designated spot throw-in. A1 is driving toward the basket along the endline. A2, with one foot inbounds and one foot touching the boundary line, and standing two strides behind B1, attempts to set a screen on B1. B1 crashes into A2 and both players fall to the floor. a. Personal foul on B1 for illegal contact with the screener. b. Personal foul on A2 for setting an illegal screen by not having a legal position on the playing floor. c. Personal foul on A2 for not giving B1 enough space to avoid the screen. d. Legal play. If jumper A1 tips the tossed ball out of bounds, which is true? a. Award the ball to team B at the spot nearest the violation and set the alternating-possession arrow to team B when the official hands the ball to the team B thrower-in. b. Award the ball to team B at the spot nearest the violation and set the alternating-possession arrow to team A when the official hands the ball to the team B thrower-in. c. Award the ball to team B at the spot nearest the violation and set the alternating-possession arrow to team B after the throw-in ends. d. Award the ball to team B at the spot nearest the violation and set the alternating-possession arrow to team A after the throw-in ends. When there is a malfunction of the game clock such that the clock froze for 5 seconds, when is the last time in which the time on the game clock may be adjusted to the correct remaining time? a. During the first dead ball after the malfunction. b. Before the period or extra period ends. c. Any time before the game ends. d. The game clock cannot be corrected due to a malfunction. Before the start of the game, the home team requests to use a dimpled game ball that does not feature an NFHS authentication mark. The head coach states that he/she has a waiver from the manufacturer stating the ball is legal for high school contests. a. The ball is not legal as it does not meet NFHS requirements. b. The ball is legal according the NFHS requirements. c. The ball is legal because of the manufacturer’s waiver. d. The ball is legal because both coaches agreed to use it.


1NFHS — c (4-47, 9-2-10)

2 NFHS — b (9-1-3c Pen. 4)

3 NFHS — a (2-10-4)

4 NFHS — d (7-1-2a1, 7-2-1, 7-6-2, 9-2-2, 9-3-1, 9-3-2)

5 NFHS — c (4-36-1, 4-36-2a, 10-7 Pen. 1c)

6 NFHS — c (4-15, 4.15.4C)

7 NFHS — d (9-5-3, 9.5.1)

8 NFHS — c (2-12-3, 2-12-4)

9 NFHS — a (5-11-1)

10 NFHS — c (3-3-4)

11 NFHS — c (10-1-2c Pen.)

12 NFHS — c (5-8-4, 5-11-4)

13 NFHS — d (9-9-1 Exception)

14 NFHS — c (4-36-1, 4-36-2a, 7-5-3b)

15 NFHS — a (9-8, 9.8C)

16 NFHS — c (4-12-1, 4-12-2a, 7-5-4a)

17 NFHS — b (4-40, 4.40.2)

18 NFHS — b (4-3-3a, 6-4)

19 NFHS — b (5-10-2)

20 NFHS — a (1-12-1)

0 views

Resources

Pages

© Ohio Valley Board of Approved Basketball Officials