Last Second Shot (Video)

A lot of discussion was generated on a last second shot during a game last week.

I have attached two videos, one is a HUDL video taken from the upper stands(not the best view from a distance), the other is a local television highlight...their camera is closer,a much better view(You can stop watching at the 45 second mark).

The mechanics and positioning of this transition play is that the Lead (calling) official is transitioning and is right on the play...The Trail official would be the official who makes the determination of whether the shot was off. (SEE AIRBORNE SHOOTER BELOW) The Center official has the action in the center of the court and would assist if asked on the determination of expiration of time. This did occur as the crew got together and determined that time expired after the release of the try. (SEE NEXT)


In speaking to the official who made the call, the question was whether or not the shot was taken before time expired? or was there any time left in the contest when the foul occurred? He stated that the crew conferred and determined the shot was off in time and that time had expired after the release.

Remember. As High School Officials we need to have definitive, 100% knowledge to put time back on the clock...We do not have the advantage of college officials to go to the monitor to determine the correct time. Excellent teamwork in getting together was executed by this team!

Another question on this play--Is the player an Airborne Shooter? The answer is YES. Both videos clearly show this!


Rule 4-1 – Article 1 states, “An airborne shooter is a player who has released the ball on a try for a goal or has tapped the ball and has not returned to the floor.”  Article 2 states, “The airborne shooter is considered to be in the act of shooting.”

Take this information along with Rule 4-41, article 1, “The act of shooting begins simultaneously with the start of the try or tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight, AND includes the airborne shooter.”

The word AND is emphasized here intentionally because it is one of those words that means something else has to be true for this rule to apply.  The try does not end when the ball is clearly in flight, but ends when the airborne shooter has returned to the floor.

In the following play, a judgement has to be made if the shooter has returned to the floor or not before there is contact. In the TV station video, it clearly shows the player had not returned to the floor.

The video shows that the shooter has not returned to the floor before contact was made by the defensive player. 

If time expired while the player was still airborne, we need to stay with the play. The try had not ended. A contact foul can still occur and the play must be officiated through the end of the try, and airborne shooter is still in the act of shooting!

How does this play get administered? 

The contact had happened prior to the player returning to the floor, she would still be considered an airborne shooter and would be awarded 3 free throws.

FYI--Three FT's on this play if any time is determined to be still on the clock. If time is determined to still be on the clock, and the shot was successful, the shooter is awarded 1 free throw.

On this play, only shoot the ensuing free throws that would affect the outcome of the contest.

If the final foul on the Airborne Shooter would result in FT's that would not affect the outcome, and it was ruled that time had expired...The FT's would NOT be attempted.

Only 1 was necessary as it was the point needed for the team to win the contest. Time had expired..DO NOT SHOOT THE OTHER TWO IN THIS SITUATION

63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All