OHSAA Plays Of The Week (Updated 2/5/20)

Updated: Feb 6

SUCCESSIVE TIME-OUTS


5.11.7 (A): Airborne shooter A1 is fouled by B1 with the try in flight. The horn then sounds ending the fourth quarter playing time. The ball continues its flight and goes through the basket to tie the score. Before A1 attempts the free throw as part of the fourth quarter, Team B captain requests and is granted a 60-second time-out. Team A or B captain then requests a 30-second time-out during the same dead-ball period. Do you grant the second time-out?


A. Grant the time-out if requested by Team A. B. Time-out not permitted. C. Grant the time-out if requested by Team B


LIVE BALL

6.1.2 (A): Is the ball live during a free throw?


A. Yes B. No


6.1.2 (A): Is the ball live before the tossed ball is legally tapped?


A. Yes B. No


6.1.2 (A): Is the ball live during a throw-in?


A. Yes B. No


Rule Book 6-1 Art. 1: Team A has just scored and Team B has gathered the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end line. During the throw-in process, Team B has dribbled the basketball along the end line. Is this a violation?


A. Yes B. No


Answers: Q1-B; Q2-A; Q3-A; Q4-A; Q5-B


FALSE DOUBLE FOUL

4.19.9 (C): A1 has a breakaway lay-up. B1 commits a hard foul against A1 from behind and it ruled an intentional foul. The Team A head coach protests, feeling the fouls should have been a flagrant foul and is assessed a technical foul.


A. Award A1’s goal if successful. Team B is awarded two free throws for the technical foul with the lane spaces cleared. Then A1 shall receive two free throws for the foul committed against him/her. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the scorers table.

B. Award A1’s goal if successful. Team B is awarded two free throws for the technical foul with the lane spaces cleared. Then A1 shall receive two free throws for the foul committed against him/her. Resume play with the out-come of the free throws.

C. Award A1’s goal if successful. A1 shall receive two free throws with the lane spaces clear. Any Team B player is then awarded two free throws for the technical foul. Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in at the point of interruption.

D. Award A1’s goal if successful. A1 shall receive two free throws with the lane spaces clear. Any Team B player is then awarded two free throws for the technical foul. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the scorers table.


CONTACTING THE BACKBOARD

10.4.4: A1 tries for a goal and B1 jumps and attempts to block the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard and the ball goes into the basket. What’s your call?


A. Legal and the goal counts. B. Goal tending and count the basket. C. Basket interference and count the basket. D. Technical foul.


10.4.4: A1 tries for a goal and B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does not enter the basket. What’s your call?


A. Legal play, play on. B. Goal tending and count the basket. C. Basket interference and count the basket. D. Technical foul and there is no goal.


UNSPORTING FOULS


PLEASE REVIEW RULE 10-5-5 AS IT PERTAINS TO LEAVING THE BENCH/FIGHTING AND THE ASSOCIATED PENALTIES. 


IF THE BENCHES COMPLETELY EMPTY, THE GAME WILL RESUME WITH NO SUBSTITUTES AVAILABLE AND POSSIBLY LESS THAN 5 PLAYERS PARTICIPATING.  THE COACHES WILL LOSE THE COACHING BOX FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE GAME. 


IF THE SUBSTITUTES ACTUALLY PARTICIPATE IN THE FIGHT, THE CONSEQUENCES ARE EVEN MORE SEVERE (SEE CB PLAYS). 


IN AS MUCH AS WE DO NOT HAVE THE CONVENIENCE OF REPLAY DO THE BEST TO CAN TO IDENTIFY THE MAJOR OFFENDERS AND REMEMBER THAT A GAME REPORT IS ESSENTIAL. 


Answers: Q1-D; Q2-A; Q3-D;





**PLEASE NOTE – Is it the official's responsibility to watch how many quarters a player plays or it is the responsibility of the scorer/table?

This is a school administration responsibility to track the number of quarters played.  It is in no way the responsibility of a game official to track player quarters.



Penalty for participation in more than five (5) quarters in a day:


When discovered DURING a contest, the TEAM shall be assessed a technical foul by the official and the student shall be disqualified from the game.  Thus the head coach would NOT lose the coaching box!  All quarters played shall count toward the maximum permitted.


DEAD-BALL LIVE-BALL FOULS

4.19.14: What type of foul is committed when during a dead-ball period A1 taunts B1?

A. Common foul B. Unsporting technical C. Flagrant foul D. Player-control foul


4.19.14: What type of foul is committed when B1 crosses the end line and fouls thrower A1?

A. Common foul B. Unsporting technical C. Intentional foul D. Player-control foul


4.19.14: What type of foul is committed when B1 reaches through the end-line boundary and slaps the ball from the hands of thrower A1?

A. Common foul B. Technical foul C. Flagrant foul D. Intentional foul


4.19.14: What type of foul is committed when immediately after the ball passes through the basket, airborne shooter A1 fouls B1?

A. Common foul B. Technical foul C. Intentional foul D. Player-control foul


Player A1 is fouled and in the double bonus. A1 pushes B2 in frustration for the foul and is given a technical foul. B2 then responds and he too is given a technical foul. How do we proceed?


A. Team A will choose who gets to shoot the foul shots (lane line clear) and the ball will be put in play nearest the point of interruption. B. Player A1 will shoot the free throws for the foul committed on him (lane line clear) and the ball will be put in play opposite the table with the alternating possession arrow. C. Player A1 will shoot the free throws with players in the lane line as this is the point of interruption and no free throws for the double technical fouls.


Answers: Q1-B; Q2-C; Q3-B; Q4-D. Q5-C



DISQUALIFICATION

4.14.1 (C): A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2’s fifth foul.  The new trail official reports the fifth foul to Team B’s coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The officials realize the error and huddle to discuss the situation.


A. Result of first free throw should stand as this was an official’s error. B. Cancel the free throw, and once B2 is replaced, resume play with A1 shooting two free throws as this is part of the correctable error situations. C. Result of the free throw should stand, and Team B is issued a technical foul for not replacing a disqualified player.


4.14.1 (B): A1 is charged with his/her fourth personal foul and reacts by using profanity. The covering official charges A1 with a technical foul.


A. Player A1 is disqualified and Team A coach is issued an indirect technical as A1 was considered bench personnel. B. Player A1 is disqualified, but Team A coach is not issued an indirect technical as A1 was not yet considered bench personnel. C. Player A1 is not disqualified as the offenses were in the same action. Player A1 has one foul remaining.


Team A is taking the ball out at a designated spot throw-in along the end line. Team A players are “stacked” (front to back) along the free throw lane. Team B players are trying to get between Team A players. Does Team A have to allow Team B players the space?


A. Yes B. No


7.6.5: Team A is taking the ball out at a designated spot throw-in along the end line. Team A players are shoulder-to-shoulder (parallel) along the free throw line. Team B players are trying to get between Team A players. Does Team A have to allow Team B players the space?

A. Yes B. No


Answers: Q1-A; Q2-B; Q3-B; Q4-B

FIGHTING

4.18.2: A1 dunks over B1 and then taunts B1. B1 retaliates and punches A1.


A. B1 is charged with a flagrant technical foul and is disqualified. B. A1 and B1 are each charged with flagrant technical fouls and both players are disqualified. C. B1 is charged with a flagrant technical foul and is disqualified while A1 is charged with a technical foul and may remain in the game. Play resumes at the point of interruption.


SUBSTITUTIONS

3.3.1 (A): During a 30-second time-out, A6 goes to the scorer to substitute for A1 after the 15-second warning but before the time-out is over. Is A6 permitted to enter the game?


A. Substitution is denied as player did not make the 15-second warning horn. B. Substitution is permitted as the player made it before the end of the time-out.


DRIBBLE – LEGAL and ILLEGAL MOVEMENT

4.15.1 (B): A1’s throw in pass is beyond A2. A2 reaches out and slaps the ball towards A’s basket. A2 then gains control and dribbles to the basket and scores. Is this a double-dribble?


A. Yes B. No


4.15.1 (A): While rebounding, A1 touches the ball while trying to gain control after which A1 catches the ball and then pushes the ball to the floor to begin a dribble. Is this a double-dribble?


A. Yes B. No


TEAM TECHNICALS

10.2.1(C): The ruling official has reported the foul and proceeds to his/her proper position for the first of two free throws awarded to A1. B1 and B2 are huddling in the free-throw lane.  What is your call?


A. First offense is a Team Technical B. First offense is a warning recorded in the scorebook; second offense is a Team Technical C. All offenses are a warnings recorded in the scorebook D. No action taken and players told to hustle to their positions. 



Answers: Q1-B; Q2-A; Q3-B; Q4-B; Q5-B




TEAM-CONTROL FOUL


4.19.7 (B): A1 is passing the ball to A2 in the team’s frontcourt when B2 deflects the pass. As A2 and B2 are attempting to retrieve the loose ball, A2 illegally pushes B2 from behind and a foul is ruled. Team B is in the bonus.

A. B2 is awarded bonus free throws as Team B is in the bonus. B. No free throws awarded as this a team-control foul. Team B awarded a designated spot throw-in nearest the spot.


DOUBLE FOULS


4.19.8 (A): A1 and B1 foul one another at approximately the same time. The contact occurs during a live ball situation. Both teams are in the bonus.

A. Double personal fouls on both A1 and B1. Each player will shoot free throws and play will resume with the alternating possession arrow. B. Double personal fouls on both A1 and B1. No free throws are awarded and play will resume at the point of interruption. C. Double personal fouls on both A1 and B1. No free throws are awarded and play will resume with the alternating possession arrow.


PLAYER-CONTROL FOUL


4.19.6 (A): B1 obtains a legal position in A1’s path before A1 become airborne. A1 jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. Before returning to the floor, airborne shooter A1 charges into B1. After the foul on A1, B2 slaps the ball on its downward flight.

A. The ball becomes dead and the try ends immediately when the player-control foul on A1 occurs.  The ball is awarded to Team B from a designated spot out of bounds. B. Team A is awarded two points for goaltending by B2. A1 is charged with a player-control foul and Team B is awarded the ball at a designated spot out of bounds. C. Team A is awarded two points for goaltending by B2. A1 is charged with a player-control foul and Team B is awarded the ball anywhere along the end-line.

INTENTIONAL FOUL 


4.19.3 (C): Team A leads by three points with four seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Team A is to throw-in from a spot out of bounds on the end line. Players begin jockeying for positions just after the official has handed the ball to A1. B1, while trying to deny a pass from A1 to A2; (a) grabs A2’s jersey; or (b) pushes A2 from behind.

A. Intentional foul in both instances. Play resumes at spot closest to the foul. B. Intentional foul in both instances. Play resumes with alternating possession arrow. C. Intentional foul in (b) and a personal foul in (a). Play resumes with the alternating possession arrow.


Answers: Q1-B; Q2-B; Q3-A; Q4-A


BALL TOUCHES AN OFFICIAL


4.4.4: The official is in Team A’s frontcourt when he/she is contacted by a pass thrown by A1 from Team A’s backcourt. After touching the official, the ball goes out of bounds; or rebounds to the backcourt where it is recovered by A2.


A. Touching an official is the same as touching the floor where the official is standing. In both instances, it’s a violation; out of bounds in the first and backcourt in the second. Ball is awarded to Team B.

B. Official should blow their whistle and make the ball become dead once he/she has been hit by the ball in both instances.

C. Ball is awarded to Team B in the first instance as the ball went out of bounds. In the second, the official should blow the play dead as to not have a backcourt violation.


TIME-OUT REQUESTS 

5.8.3 (B): Following a time-out, both teams are at the sideline with respective coaches after all the signals have been given prior to a throw-in by Team A. Team A or Team B requests a time out before the official places the ball on the floor at the throw-in spot. Is this allowed? Can either team call a time-out?


A. Yes; only Team A B. Yes; only Team B C. Yes; either team D. No


5.8.3 (B): Following a time-out, both teams are at the sideline with respective coaches after all the signals have been given prior to a throw-in by Team A. Team A or Team B requests a time out after the official places the ball on the floor at the throw-in spot. Is this allowed? Can either team call a time-out?


A. Yes; only Team A B. Yes; only Team B C. Yes; either team D. No


THROW-IN SPOTS

7.5.7(D): Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 commits an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line.

Who shoots the free throws?

Where is the ball to be put back in play at?

Does Team B get to move along the baseline?


A. Team B may choose who shoots the free throws. Ball is put in play at the point of interruption. Team B may move along the baseline.


B. Player B3 would shoot the free throws. Ball is put in play at the point of interruption. Team B will have a spot throw-in.


C. B3 would shoot the free throws. Ball is put in play at the division line, opposite the table where Team B will have a designated spot throw-in. 


D. B3 would shoot the free throws. Ball is put in play at the point of interruption. Team B may move along the baseline. 


Answers: Q1-A; Q2-C; Q3-A; Q4-B


FRONTCOURT CLOSESLY-GUARDED ACTION

9.10.1 (B): While dribbling in A’s frontcourt, A1 is closely guarded by B1. After two seconds, B2 also assumes a closely-guarded position on A1 and B1 leaves to guard A2. What’s the call?


A. The closely-guarded count continues even when B1 leaves the closely-guarded position. B. The closely-guarded count restarts when B2 joins B1. C. The closely-guarded count restarts when B1 leaves to guard A2.


BALL OVER BACKBOARD

7.1.2 (A): The ball strikes the side edge or top edge of the backboard or passes over the top of the backboard from a pass or try from the front or back of the plane of the backboard.


A. Violation - Ball is out-of-bounds. B. Ball remains live if it touches a side edge or the top edge if it rebounds and comes down in front of the backboard. C. Ball remains live if it touches a side edge, but out of bounds if the ball touches the top edge.


SIMULTANEOUS VIOLATIONS

6.4.3 (A): B1, in a marked free-throw lane space, enters the free-throw lane prematurely. The administering official properly signals the violation and A1 attempts the free throw. However, A1’s attempt does not enter the basket or touch the ring.


A. Any free-throw lane violation by the offense is penalized and it will be Team B’s ball for a throw-in. B. B1’s violation was first and A1 will get another free-throw. C. Violations by A1 and B1 are considered simultaneous free-throw violations. Unless there is another free-throw, play resumes with the alternating possession throw-in.


CONTINUOUS MOTION

6.7 (D): A1 has started a try for a field goal (is in the act of shooting), but the ball is not yet in flight when the official blows the whistle for B2 fouling A2. A1’s try is successful.


A. As soon as the official blow’s his/her whistle, the ball is dead and the play is stopped. Do not score the goal and if Team A is in the bonus, A2 will shoot free-throws otherwise Team A will have a designated spot throw-in. B. Score the goal by A1. If Team A is in the bonus, A2 will shoot free-throws. If not, Team A will have a designated spot throw-in. C. As soon as the official blow’s his/her whistle, the ball is dead and the play is stopped. Do not score the goal. Team A, even if in the bonus, will have a designated spot throw-in near the spot of the foul.


OFFICIALS MANUAL

5.4.2 (H-Disqualification Procedure): Player A4 has just been disqualified from the contest by picking up his/her fifth foul. The people who need notified are the player, the head coach, and the timer. In which order should these be notified?

                1.

                2.

                3.


Answers: Q1-A; Q2-B; Q3-C; Q4-B; Q5- Coach, Timer, Player


TEN SECOND RULE

9.8 (A): A1 is in A’s backcourt and has dribbled for nine seconds and then passes the ball towards A2 in the frontcourt. While the ball is in the air traveling from backcourt to frontcourt, the 10-second count is reached. Do we have a violation?


A. Yes

B. No


9.8 (B): Team A has control of the ball for eight seconds in A’s backcourt when A1 passes the ball toward Team A’s frontcourt. The official’s count continues. The ball strikes the floor in A’s frontcourt and stays there without being touched by any player. Should the count continue after the ball touches the frontcourt?


A. Yes

B. No


FRONTCOURT-BACKCOURT

9.9.1 (C): A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A’s frontcourt A2 touches the ball and deflects it back to A’s backcourt where it touches the floor. A2 recovers in the backcourt. Do we have a backcourt violation?


A. Yes

B. No


9.9.1 (D): Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1; A2 jumps from Team A’s frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. Is there a backcourt violation?

A. Yes

B. No

Answers: Q1-A; Q2-B; Q3-A; Q4-A


LOSS OF ARROW

6.4.5 (A): Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating procedure. A1 commits a violation. What happens to the alternating possession arrow?


A. Team B will get the throw-in for the violation and Team B will also get the alternating possession arrow.

B. Team B will get the throw-in for the violation, but Team A will keep the alternating possession arrow.


HELD BALL ON THROW-IN – NO ARROW CHANGE

6.4.5 (B): During an alternating possession throw-in, thrower A1 holds the ball through the end-line plane and B1 grabs it, resulting in a held ball. How do we proceed?


A. Still Team A’s ball since the throw-in had not ended.

B. Team B’s ball for a throw-in since Team A was attempting a throw-in for an alternating possession. Team A will have the next alternating possession arrow.

C. Team B’s ball for a throw-in and Team B maintains the alternating possession arrow.


JUMPERS FACING WRONG DIRECTION

5.2.1 (E): During the pregame practice period, the visiting team properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. A1 controls the tap by tapping the ball back to A2. A2, realizing the he/she has warmed up at the basket behind A1, dribbles to that basket and scores an uncontested basket.


A. Score the basket by Team A. Team B’s ball out-of-bounds.

B. Do not score the basket by Team A and restart the game with the jumpers facing the correct way.

C. Allow Team B to have an opportunity on offense and then stop the game and emphasize the correct direction to each team.

Answers: Q1-A; Q2-A; Q3-A


16 views

Recent Posts

See All

Resources

Pages

© Ohio Valley Board of Approved Basketball Officials