When Thrower loses the ball(video)

Here's the play...


This site is about getting better..It is not the intent to embarrass or criticize...Do not take it in that manner.

When we present the ball for a throw-in, we must ensure that the player who is the thrower has secured control of the ball. If he/she has not secured possession of the ball in your judgement and he/she "fumbled or lost" the ball....It is an easy "fix"...Reset the play and hand the ball to the player again. It is better to err on the side of no control if you have doubt.....Do not issue a violation!

If in your judgement, possession was gained and the ball was controlled, the fumble will be ruled a violation.

A very similar play occurs when we bounce the ball to the FT shooter, if they do not secure control as they accept the bounce pass...Reset and present it again.

The caveat to this play is: If you rule possession was gained by the FT shooter, and then the ball was fumbled forward...That is a violation.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All