Updated: Nov 3, 2019
A key part of “getting the play right” is where the ball is spotted after the official makes their ruling on a violation, a non-shooting foul or resumes play at the completion of a timeout.
This often overlooked component of the game can lead to careless spot placements, which will undoubtedly create unfair advantages for teams inbounding the ball.
Be vigilant in visualizing your “Inbound Triangle” for determining throw in spots for non-shooting fouls in the offensive team’s front court.
Did the foul occur inside your imaginary lines running from the free throw line elbows to the end line corners, or at the top of the key?
If so, the throw in spot will be on the endline.
If the foul took place outside the imaginary lines, then the spot throw in will take place on the sideline.
Careless ball placement, or a lack of understanding of the “Inbound triangle” will lead to several unfair advantages given (or missed opportunities for end line throw-ins) throughout the course of your game.
It is the location of the foul, not the location of where the ball is at the time of the foul that determines where the resumption of play throw in is to take place.
Conversely for timeouts, it is the location of the ball, not where the player or coach is who requests the stoppage in play that determines where the ball will be spotted to resume play.
The inconsistent spotting of throw-ins to resume play is common complaint of supervisors and those evaluating game tape. Be mindful of these throw in tips and you will be an “Image of Difference” official!